Farewell, 2016!

Like many other people, 2016 was a rough year for me. It started with my husband being very ill, requiring surgery and 3 months of recovery. Both of my parents were sick off and on throughout the whole year, and this left very little time for anything else. I did not manage to read as much as I wanted to, but my 2016 reading list appears below for those of you clamoring to know. I have listed if the book is fiction (F) or nonfiction (NF) and the author. I have fallen way behind in blogging about my reads, but I’m hoping to get caught up soon. I definitely want to share with you my thoughts on some of these. There were some good books in there that deserve some attention. Today, I am home sick as I battle an ugly sinus infection that will not go away. I’m on round two of antibiotics and praying this finally clears it up for good. But, my suffering is (hopefully) your gain as I plan to get going on some reviews. That’s assuming I can battle the cold medicine long enough to stay awake and coherent.

2016 Reading List

Always Hungry (NF, Dr. David Ludwig)

Fates and Furies (F, Lauren Groff)

Naomi’s Room (F, Jonathan Aycliffe)

The Martian (F, Andy Weir)

Ready Player One (F, Ernest Cline)

We Were Liars (F, E. Lockhart)

What To Say When You Talk To Yourself (NF, Shad Helmstetter)

Steal Like An Artist (NF, Austin Kleon)

Show Your Work! (NF, Austin Kleon)

The Problem of the Green Capsule (F, John Dickson Carr)

Big Magic (NF, Elizabeth Gilbert)

A Darker Shade of Magic (F, V.E. Schwab)

Still Life (F, Louise Penny)

A Gathering of Shadows (F, V.E. Schwab)

Station Eleven (F, Emily St. John Mandel)

Bliss House (F, Laura Benedict)

Get Rich, Lucky Bitch (NF, Denise Duffield-Thomas)

My Best Friend’s Exorcism (F, Grady Hendrix)

Chamomile Mourning (F, Laura Childs)

The War of Art (NF, Steven Pressfield)

My favorite nonfiction book of the year was definitely Big Magic. My review explains my love of that one. My favorite fiction books of the year were A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab. These are the first two in a three book series. The third one comes out in February, and I’ve already got my copy pre-ordered. I loved these books! When I’ve finished the third one, I will write up one big review covering the whole series.

I have set two goals thus far in 2017. One is to read at least 25 books (5 more than last year). Two is to only purchase books for specific reasons (no willy-nilly book buying sprees despite my undying love for said sprees). We have SO MANY BOOKS. It’s a wonderful, beautiful problem to have, but I must make time to read the books I own. I will continue to buy my book club books but am also going to start using the library more frequently when they have the book I need. The husband and I are also trying to improve our health and lose some weight (aren’t we all?), so books will be used as rewards for a job well done (rather than ice cream or pizza). I think these are doable goals, don’t you?

What was your favorite book(s) you read in 2016? Do you have a reading goal set for the new year? Here’s to 2017, my fellow readers, may it be better than the year before!

Leave a Reply

