Farmacology Book Review

Occasionally I will be posting about non-fiction books.  I enjoy a good non-fiction book from time to time, especially books about all-natural and healthy living (hippie books, as my husband would call them).  The most recent one I read that really stood out to me was Farmacology.  I picked it up as a Kindle book one day when it was on sale for the rock-bottom price of $2.99.  I had never heard of it, but thought it sounded worth a shot, and if not, I wasn’t out much. Much to my pleasant surprise I adored this book, and am almost ready to read it again. I’ve recommended it to my sister like 10 times now (as she also subscribes to the hippie ways and I know she would enjoy it), but now I get to recommend it to you too!

miller-farmacology-thumb

REVIEW

Title: Farmacology

Author: Daphne Miller, M.D.

Published: 4/16/2013

Format I Read: Kindle

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis: Dr. Daphne Miller set out to discover if farming and agriculture have an impact on our bodies and health.  She traveled around the country living and working on six different types of farms.  In the resulting book, she tells six different stories about what she learned in each place and how we can use that information to improve our health and our world.  In her own words, “Farmacology explores what the science and art of sustainable agriculture can teach us about health and healing.”

Thoughts: In case you didn’t pick up on this earlier, I love, love, love this book.  If I had enough money, I would buy multiple copies of it and hand it out to everyone I meet. Miller is a great writer.  Her words are fluid and descriptive, and she manages to explain everything in a very understandable way.  It feels like sitting down with a friend while she shares her journey and her insights with you.

Each chapter is its own story, and they are all fascinating.

  • Chapter one is about a biodynamic farm and how it relates to gaining back health (or rejuvenation as Dr. Miller calls it).
  • Chapter two is about a dairy farm and it’s relationship to raising resilient children.
  • Chapter three is set at an egg farm and focuses on what it can teach us about stress management.
  • Chapter four is about integrated pest management at a winery and what that can mean for cancer treatment options.
  • Chapter five is about an urban farm and it’s lessons regarding community medicine.
  • Chapter six is about an herb farm and sustainable beauty.

As a doctor, Miller actually took the information that she learned and helped her patients apply the solutions in real life.  She recounts the stories of those patients in the book as well.  If you have any interest in natural agriculture, healthy living, or are just looking for a very interesting take on how nature, food, and health interact, I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

